A Week Seems To Be A Theme Here

by Rin

For the record, we mean to post something in this blog of craziness every day, but… things have been a little crazy lately. And on top of the high level of ambient insanity, in case November isn’t a stupid enough month, I’ve been attempting to write fifty thousand words before it’s out.

National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo, as the Japanese-style acronym has it, is a really freaking stupid thing to do. (And I say this with the most enthusiasm and love possible, but that’s a rant for another post.) The salient point here is that you’re trying to write a novel in a month. You get so deep into your putative novel that you can’t see it from the outside anymore, and then, at times like this when it’s past midnight and you’ve had too much caffeine, that you blink at the page and wonder if what you just wrote actually makes any sense.

That’s what just happened to me. To sum up the background, quickly: this insane thing I’m writing features three characters, none of whom have known each other for more than a month, and one of them barely at all, are snowed into a castle with no way to get out. There’s magic and stuff, and a whole lot more to it, but that’s the basic idea. Anyway, I was sitting here writing this weirdly tense emotional scene, and it suddenly hit me- these two characters have known each other for a week at most. Can they really be having this intense conversation, sharing their most secret worries? Is this even plausible?

And then I remembered that YCTC, the summer camp that saved my life back when I was sixteen, was three weeks long, and by the end of the first week we’d all made some of the best friends of our lives. By the end of the first week of my freshman year of college, I found myself in a nucleus of people that would be basically inseparable for the rest of the year. I met my sort-of-boyfriend (it’s a long story) during a show that only rehearsed for a week, and that was three years ago. When you throw people together in a new environment, a new situation, they’ll find ways to bond. They’ll find things they have in common, and things they don’t have in common, and they’ll go delirious with cabin fever together, and when they come out the other side.. who knows?

So I’m not going to worry about that scene too much. …Speaking of which, I’d better get back to that. I have at least five hundred more words to write tonight.

Leave a Reply

